This article describes actions taken by your Splio universe when a contact unsubscribes (or is unsubscribed manually in the platform). This is a bit more complex than just removing the address, because we need to prevent sending accidental messages to unsubscribed contacts.
The response to unsubscription in Splio differs based on how it happened and how the universe is organised. The possible options have been compiled in the table below:
Organisation: Standard or Agency mode
The standard mode of operation for Splio is when a universe manages contacts (and contact lists) for a single entity.
In the agency mode, a Splio universe instead manages a base of contacts that is shared by two or more partners, as an advertising agency would do. All contacts belonging to one partner are members of a list. For this reason, Splio will remove contacts from a single list when it can, and blacklist them completely when it has to.
Unsubscription when sending with temporary files
Temporary files do not count as part of the universe’s database. However, regardless of the mode, unsubscribing after receiving an email sent this way will always lead to the addition of the address into the blacklist.